Latest Headlines


2015 mandate to Maithripala, Ranil nullified by humiliating defeat: Dullas


JO Parliamentarian Dallas Allahaperuma has stated that the 2015 mandate given to President Maithripala Sirisena and Premier Ranil Wickremasinghe has been nullified by the humiliating defeat they suffered at the recent local government polls.

He was addressing the media at the Dr.N.M.Perera Centre in Borella. He stated that a vast majority of people had voted against the government. Some had sought to portray overwhelming vote for SLPP as a rejection of PM Wickremesinghe. The results reflected the growing public anger and resentment towards the administration. It is not merely against Wickremesinghe as some wanted the people to believe. It is against the government.

He charged that President Sirisena and PM Wickremesinghe couldn't even win Polonnaruwa and Colombo districts. In fact, yahapalana leaders had badly lost north central and western provinces, respectively while except four cabinet ministers and two state ministers, all lost their electorates. SLFP General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake and UPFA General Secretary Mahinda Amaraweera, too, lost their home bases.


Demonstration by Peradeniya University students in Galaha

 - By J.M.Hafeez A demonstration was held at Galaha Junction by students of the Peradeniya University demanding solution to the problems faced by their colleagues in...
Read more

TNA meets people in Jaffna

Tamil National Alliance met its supporters in Jaffna town at a meeting in the Mahumood Hall in Osmaniya College under the patronage of Ilankai Tamil...
Read more

Demo for renovation of Hapugastalawa- Nawalapitiya Road

- By J.M.HafeezA demonstration was held recently by villagers demanding the renovation of Hapugatalawa- Nawalapitiya since the present plight of the road hinders swift flow...
Read more

Saraswati Pooja at Express Newspapers Head office

Special celebrations were held at the Grandpass office and Ekkala office of the Express Newspapers Limited recently. The members of the Management, Editorial Board, journalists,...
Read more


© 2018 OMLANKA. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.